Human Body – 96 Basic Principles

Siddhars or Siddhas the spiritual scientists of Tamil Nadu (ancient South India) are the pioneers of this scientific system. Siddhas fundamental principles never differentiated man from the universe. According to them, “Nature is man and man is nature and therefore both are essentially one. Man is said to the microcosm and the Universe is Macrocosm, because what exists in the Universe exists in man.” Siddha system trusts that all objects in the universe including human body are combined of five basic primordial elements, namely earth, water, fire, air and space.

Siddhas defined 96 principles as the constituents of Human Being. They comprise Physical, Physiological, Mental and Intellectual mechanisms of a person. They are nothing but the materialization of the “Five Basic Elements “.

The human body is composed of 96 Tattvas (Thathuvam) or basic principles. They are…

Elements – 5
1. Earth
2. Water
3. Fire
4. Air
5. Space

Sense Organs – 5
1. Eye
2. Ear
3. Nose
4. Tongue
5. Skin

Functions Of Sense Organs – 5
1. Vision
2. Hearing
3. Smell
4. Taste
5. Touch

Motor Organs – 5
1. Hands
2. Legs
3. Mouth
4. Rectum
5. Sex Organs

Perception Of Senses – 5
1. Smell
2. Taste
3. Sight
4. Touch
5. Hearing

Intellectual Faculties – 4
1. Mind
2. Intellect
3. Subconscious mind
4. Ego

Arivu – 1 (Wisdom Of Self Realization)

Vital Nerve Force – 10
1. Idakalai
2. Pinkalai
3. Sulumunai
4. Siguvai
5. Purudan
6. Kanthari
7. Atthi
8. Allampudai
9. Sanguni
10. Gugu

Vital Life Force – 10
1. Pranan
2. Abanan
3. Uthanan
4. Samanan
5. Vyanan
6. Nagan
7. Koorman
8. Kirukaran
9. Devadhathan
10. Dhanenjeyan

Visceral Cavities– 5
1. Stomach
2. Small Intestine
3. Large Intestine Especially Rectum
4. Urinary Bladder
5. Seminal Vesicle

States Of The Human Body Or Sheath – 5
1. Physical Sheath
2. Mental Sheath
3. Respiratory Sheath
4. Intellectual Sheath
5. Blissful Sheath

Stations Of Soul – 6
1. Moolatharam
2. Swathistanam
3. Manipooragam
4. Anakatham
5. Visuthi
6. Aakinai

Regions – 3
1. Fire Region
2. Solar Region
3. Lunar Region

Impurities Of The Soul – 3
1. Egoism
2. Karma
3. Maya (Delusion)

Three Humors – 3
1. Vatham = Air + Space
2. Pitham = Fire
3. Kapham = Earth + Water

Physical Bindings– 3
1. Material Bindings
2. Offspring Bindings
3. Worldly Bindings

Cosmic Qualities – 3
1. Sattva (Pure)
2. Rajas (Passion)
3. Tamas (Ignorance)

Acts – 2
1. Good Acts
2. Bad Acts

Passions – 8
1. Desire
2. Hatred
3. Stingy
4. Lust
5. Pride
6. Internal Conflict
7. Mockery
8. Ego

States Of Consciousness – 5
1. Wakefulness
2. Dream
3. Sleep
4. Repose (Tranquil Or Peaceful State)
5. Insensibility To Surroundings

Next to the Tattvas the human body exists of 72000 blood vessels, 13000 nerves and ten main arteries. 4448 diseases can be caused by the imbalance of the three humors. Hope we learned something about our body! 🙂


Author: Ganesh

A soul in the search of eternal peace... "Be True, Love All, Help Others Selflessly, Live in Harmony and Rest in Peace"

10 thoughts on “Human Body – 96 Basic Principles”

  1. I echo the above response, I love how man and universe are reflective of each other and thus follow the common of both.


    1. You should able to find the human anatomy and physiology of physical body by googling it. Remember these are 96 principles and most of them are subtle elements. 🙂


    1. Good question, Netra. You are most welcome here. You can find more about them here… 🙂

      10 Vital Nerve Forces:
      Suzhi munai – the central nerve passing through six chakras from tail bone to crown of head. It’s the balanced state of Ida and pingala naadi
      Idakalai – the nerve beginning from the great toe of the right foot and passing up to the left nostril.
      Pinkalai – the nerve beginning from the great toe of the left foot and passing up to the right nostril.
      Purudan – controls the right eye
      Kanthari – Controls the left eye.
      Atthi – controls the hearing through right ear
      Alambudai- control the left ear
      Siguvai – Related to Vishuthi chakra. Controls speech, breathing and swallowing
      Guru – beginning at the naval and reaching to the verenda. It controls the defecation related activities
      Sangini – situated in the verenda linked to Swadistana chakra.It controls genitourinary organ actions

      10 Vital Life Forces:
      Praana – situated in the heart. Actions: Breathing, sneezing, spitting, swallowing
      Apaana – situated in the top of the head and passing downwards. Actions: bearing down for childbirth, urination, motion
      Samaana – situated in navel. Controls stomach/intestine actions
      Vyaana – pervading the whole body. controls circulatory system
      Udaana – situated in throat. Controls speech, sound production, expression
      Naaga – which effects the motions and speech
      Koorma – Koorma opens the eyes and stimulates blinking. Koorma keeps the eyes healthy, moist, shining, and bright, so that the mind may be likewise for the purpose of focus and concentration in deep meditation.
      Krikara – Sneezing, hunger and thirst
      Devadatta – that which is exhaled in yawning
      Dhananjaya – that which remains in the body after the death and escapes by splitting the head.


What do you feel?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: