I am the Self…


Krisha to Arjuna

Creatures rise and creatures vanish;
I alone am real, Arjuna,
looking out, amused, from deep
Within the eyes of every creature.

I am the object of all knowledge,
Father of the world, its mother,
Source of all things, of impure and
Pure, of holiness and horror.

I am the goal, the root, the witness,
Home and refuge, dearest friend,
Creation and annihilation,
Everlasting seed and treasure.

I am the radiance of the sun, I
Open or withhold the rainclouds,
I am Immortality and
Death, am being and non-being.

I am the Self, Arjuna, seated
in the heart of every creature.
I am the origin, the middle,
And the end that all must come to.

~ Lord Krishna to Arjuna, Bhagavad Gita [Translation: Stephen Mitchell]

6 thoughts on “I am the Self…

  1. wonderful and if i may add

    Of meters I am the beat of the universe
    Of all compounds I am the combiner
    Of gamblers I am the fall of the dice
    Of the splendid the splendour
    Of those who seek victory I am strategy
    Of secrets I am silenceThe seed of all existence Am I

    Like

  2. Here too we get a reference to the fact that it is we, as Spirit, who created everything yet this is not often referred to by Earthlings – by us when we are Earthlings. Needless to say, this reality is beyond the scope of science. That limited scope is due to the limitations of the mind which confines science.

    Like

What do you feel?

