7 States of Consciousness in OM

Seven states or levels of consciousness are given below…

Seven Levels of Consciousness

  • Three states of consciousness: Each of the three sounds of AUM (A, U, and M) symbolizes specific states of consciousness.
  • Fourth state of consciousness: After those three parts of the OM, there is a Silence, the Fourth, which relates to consciousness or awareness itself.
  • Three transition states: Between these four states of Consciousness there are three transition states.

These levels exist universally

It is important to be aware of the fact that these levels of consciousness are realities that exist universally, regardless of whether or not one uses the OM Mantra or the visual OM symbol in any way. In either case, the underlying principles are extremely useful for all seekers in purifying or clearing the mind, and seeking the direct experience of deeper truths.

Meaning of the symbol

Not only does the sound vibration of the AUM/OM represent the four levels of consciousness, so too does the visual symbol.


  • The lower curve represents the Gross, Conscious, Waking state level, called Vaishvanara. (A of OM Mantra)
  • The center curve represents the Subtle, Unconscious, and Dreaming level, called Taijasa. (U of OM Mantra)
  • The upper curve represents the Causal, Subconscious, and Deep Sleep level, called Prajna. (M of OM Mantra)
  • The dot, point, or bindu represents the fourth state, the absolute consciousness, which encompasses, permeates, and is the other three, and is called Turiya. (Silence after A, U, and M of OM Mantra)
  • The arc below the dot symbolizes the separateness of this fourth state, standing above, though ever remaining part of the other three. Piercing the bindu finally allows one to attain the highest experience, and this comes after following the process of Kundalini Awakening.


Yogic Conscious Deep Sleep by Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati at http://www.swamij.com/yoga-nidra.htm

Author: Ganesh

A soul in the search of eternal peace... "Be True, Love All, Help Others Selflessly, Live in Harmony and Rest in Peace"

5 thoughts on “7 States of Consciousness in OM”

What do you feel?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s